A couple of times, I guess…

Daily writing prompt
Have you ever performed on stage or given a speech?

I do remember having to participate in music competitions when I was in school, but thankfully it only lasted a few years. Thankfully, I don’t remember much of those terrifying moments. If you know me, you know I’m most definitely an introvert, and don’t like to do any kind of public performance. Believe me, people have tried to get me to sing and dance or recite a poem for guests when they came home, but I always dug my heels in and never gave in to the pressure hehe!

And then, who knows what happened, but my second year in a new school (or was it the first year??), I suddenly volunteered to present a whole cultural program. Imagine this, I’m a person who doesn’t like the spotlight, can’t really take a compliment without brushing it off, and hates having to meet complete strangers. I went right ahead, stood up in front of a couple of hundred people, and introduced each item in the said cultural program. And I was only 15.

To be honest, I’m now quite used to speaking in front of people, and it doesn’t bother me so much, but I always prefer it to be a rehearsed bit and not an impromptu speech…

There, you now know more about me!

Ooooh I remember the one time I was actually part of the teacher’s team at the place I worked at, and we suddenly decided to participate in the Fête de la musique show, a week before the show. And then, the day of, on VERY little practice, I trooped on to stage with the rest of the team, and we sang.

One thought on “A couple of times, I guess…

Leave a comment